Stuck in a rut? Try this!

stressed-stuck-in-a-rut-miserable-lifeHappiness geek that I am, I like to observe simple happiness “strategies” when the no-reason-for-a-bad-mood comes along. We’ve all been there, those days in which you crawl out of the wrong side of the bed and for no particular reason, feel downright crappy. I call this “getting stuck in a rut.”

I’m a college student (last semester!), so the majority of my work is done from “home”: studying, writing papers, preparing for meetings, and it’s easy to hole up in my apartment for hours at a time to do that work. Those who work from home can also relate to this.

What I’ve found, however, is that for some reason, staying in your home for too long can lead to feelings of depression.

So, if you’re feeling stuck in a rut and you are inside your home, try making this one simple change:

Just get out of the house.

 

That’s it. Really. This one simple action can solve your entire feeling of crappyness for one day.

Try:

  • Going for a drive
  • Running some errands
  • Paying a friend a visit
  • Going to a local coffee shop and doing your work there instead

Sounds almost too simple to be true I know, but give it a shot and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

