7 Reasons to Start Running Now

run

I’ve had a love-hate relationship with exercise for as long as I can remember.

For years I was a semi-competitive basketball player (5th grade through high school), and come those varsity years it was inevitable that I be in shape. So I was. I had a trainer and everything. No joke.

Fast forward to college, and I lost it for a while. I would go one month without exercise, and one month with. Repeat. I’m naturally skinny, so when I stop exercising I actually LOSE weight (I kid you not). Once the muscle left, I was skinnier than ever.

Fast forward to my senior year of college, and I found yoga. Yoga was great, so centering and strengthening, but there was still something missing.

And then..I went through my first major break-up.

Enter running.

And it changed my life.

These are the reasons why everyone should partake in this mind-blowing form of exercise:

  1. Duhhhh heart health. Nothing, I repeat-NOTHING works out the heart like running.
  2. Fight disease. There is some research that suggests that women who run are less likely to develop breast cancer. Additionally, running has been shown to strengthen the immune system!
  3. Runners high! There is NOTHING like the runners high. Euphoric bliss. I can’t get enough of it.
  4. Running is detoxing! Running helps rid your body of toxins!
  5. You’ll be happier. Endorphins, meeting goals, improving strength and endurance, fitter more toned body…they have all made me happier.
  6. Self-confidence. I don’t know what it is about running over other forms of exercise that makes me so self-loving and confident. It just does.
  7. Omnipotence! Okay…that might be stretching it a little bit. But hey, I feel all-mighty and powerful when I run.

Give it a go. I guarantee while it may be hard at first, you will become addicted. Don’t forget to stretch those hips!

One thought on “7 Reasons to Start Running Now

Leave a Reply

