Ode to Running

With every step I run, the past flies behind me.

Past hurts, past mistakes, past inferiority lost into the background.

With every step, I am stronger than before.

The steps become steps of joy, joy to be alive.

And so, running becomes a metaphor for life:

What I put in, I get back 10-fold.

I am shown time and time again that I can accomplish much more than I ever thought possible.

I learn what true mindfulness really means:

It is the feeling of my breath, the breeze, my feet on the ground, and the sights around me as I fly by.

I learn that in moments of doubt, I’m my own worst enemy.

In times of strength, I can push myself to unforeseen heights.

All this I owe to running.

3 thoughts on “Ode to Running

Leave a Reply

