9 Benefits of Waking Up Early

Black woman waking up in bed“When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive — to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.” –Marcus Aurelius 

“Lose an hour in the morning, and you will be all day hunting for it.”  –Richard Whately

You know the drill. The alarm begins ringing, and with a groan you press the snooze 10 times. You finally drag yourself out of bed 20 minutes before you need to leave. Cursing every stoplight and beating yourself up, you arrive to work already on the wrong foot.

I know, I’ve been there. It wasn’t until about a year ago that I began taking advantage of a morning routine. And this is what I found: subtracting an hour of sleep for an extra hour of getting myself on track in the morning made me less sluggish and more productive throughout the entire day.

The benefits that I’ve come to know and love include the following:

1. Time to actually wake up.

I can’t tell you how many times in the past I’ve jumped out of bed late, basically ran out the door, and arrived to work/school super groggy and unequipped to deal with any challenges that might occur throughout the day. I love being able to ease into the day, so that by the time I’m out the door my body is buzzing with energy, completely awake.

2. Time to center and ground. 

Just the simple act of waking up early leads to greater focus. By not having to rush to make it out the door on target time, I can take the time to be mindful of every activity that I do, leading to greater overall focus.

3. Ease into a positive outlook.

There are many days that I still wake up grumpy at having been woken up from a slumber. However, after I get up, I’ve found that within a time frame of under 30 minutes, a positive attitude begins to manifest almost like magic. The grumpyness is gone way before its time to begin my day.

4. Quiet time and sunrise.

The mornings are one of the few times free from noise or chatter. I love being able to sit quietly with my coffee, read a couple articles on my favorite websites, and watch the sunrise. It’s truly magical.

5. Breakfast!! 

Man do I love to eat. Skip breakfast and I’m cranky pants.

6. More optimism.

Over time, I’ve found that just the act of waking up early alone makes me more optimistic during the rest of the day. By taking the time to wake up and ease into a positive outlook, I’m more likely to expect the best in situations.

7. Time for dreams.

Another great thing about mornings is the possibility of working towards dreams. My dream is this blog and writing. When I work in writing into my morning, I’m investing in passions before the day has even begun. No one can take away my joy after that.

8. Productivity.

By waking up early, I have the time to go over a to-do list or work on a personal/work project before the day has even started. On days when I tackle a project in the early morning, the sense of accomplishment motivates me the entire rest of the day.

9. Beat rush hour.

And seriously, who doesn’t want that.

What things do you work into your morning routine? Are you a morning person?

5 thoughts on “9 Benefits of Waking Up Early

Leave a Reply

