The Art of Quitting

“In the process of letting go you will lose many things from the past, but you will find yourself.” – Deepak Chopra

It was only weeks after graduation when I found myself in the midst of a career that I hated; it seemed my job entailed everything that I was bad at – mulling over minuscule details, working in a fast-paced environment, and snappy verbal communication skills – when I realized that I was headed nowhere fast.

I found it necessary to pull myself out of bed every morning with a groan, chug a quick cup of coffee, and dread the 9 hours I would spend in the office.

The majority of my precious time was spent talking on the phone with rude clients, researching business solicitations and market trends, all while projecting a fake smile on my face. In between every email, phone-call, and research spurt, I found myself counting down the seconds until the clock hit 5:30.

No joy, no passion, no love. All gone. Enough was enough.

It’s ironic that happiness gurus like me who insist “you can choose to be happy” find themselves in situations so desperate, that the only way out is to let go and quit.

People like to view the act of quitting as synonymous with giving up, with weakness, with shame. This societal conditioning causes us to suffer through dead-end relationships, dead-end careers, and good lives gone bad, all for the sake of reputational pride; the ability to scream across the rooftops “we don’t give up!” Because suffering through hardship inevitably shows strength and resilience. Or does it?

Read the full article on Thought Catalogue here!

One thought on “The Art of Quitting

Leave a Reply

