Life is an Adventure: Are You Playing?

origin_1258089378

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” –Helen Keller

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.” –Jawaharlal Nehru

As I wrote about recently, I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting with getting out of my normal routine, which usually consists of:

  • Working with special needs middle school students from 7-2:30
  • Writing for 30 minutes – 1.5 hours from 2:30 – 4
  • Working at the local high school in the late afternoon/early evenings

Like most 9-5 workers,  I have weekends and evenings completely free. It becomes so easy to succumb to routines on the weekend too: get together with friends for drinks or movie nights on a Friday night, sleep late/muddle around on Netflix or read a book on Saturday, and maybe get brunch with friends on Sunday.

One word: BORING.

Now, don’t get me wrong: chill weekends and productive weeks can be nice; I am not at all saying that introverts (I myself am an introvert) or people who choose to stay home on the weekend with wine and Netflix are boring, but rather that if the same routines are always repeated, life loses its spark.

So this is what I’ve done recently:

  1. Changed up my morning routine
  2. Got up an hour early and ate breakfast overlooking a pond
  3. Took a trip to NC to hike Pilot Mountain
  4. Took a solo hiking trip near my local neighborhood
  5. Went to a movie alone
  6. Visited outdoors perks in my home of SW VA
  7. Signed up for classes on white water rafting and scuba diving for this coming semester

What I’ve found is that the world opens up when you open up to it. By doing something different, life’s spark returns. Life becomes a series of magical moments as apposed to boring routines.

Join me?

 

What do you do to add adventures into your life?

2 thoughts on “Life is an Adventure: Are You Playing?

Leave a Reply

