I brushed my teeth standing on one leg, and the results were astounding

man-brushing-teeth

As part of my Dare a Day challenge this year, I’ve started making subtle changes to my regular routines.

Today, I changed my teeth brushing habit by standing on one leg while brushing. And, while this may sound totally silly, I was surprised to find how astounding the results were.

My teeth brushing and other similar routines in the morning  usually become very automatic, so much so that I often zone out in the least mindful way possible. When I added standing on one leg to teeth brushing,  an activity that usually puts me into autopilot, the whole routine changed into an intentional act, one that forced me to be fully invested in the moment, mindful, and in complete union with my mind and body.

Wow.

I felt the exact same way that I feel when I practice yoga – in union, peace, and mindfully invested in the present moment.

What are your experiences changing up your simple routines?

2 thoughts on “I brushed my teeth standing on one leg, and the results were astounding

  1. That’s a great idea. And the results are indeed astounding. I;m also working on being more mindful of every activity I do throughout the day, mostly the ones I usually do on autopilot – like brushing my teeth.
    I’ll give this a try That would be interesting 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

