5 Yoga Poses for Carpal Tunnel

According to the Burreau of Labor statistics, over 77 million individuals now use computers in the workplace. In fact, in only 3 years of time, there was an increase of over 2 million computers used in the workplace. Long gone are the days of handwritten tasks and phone calls; no longer do working people rely on phone calls and voicemails to communicate with one another; now email, skype, and gchat take up the majority of communication tasks at work.

With this rise in technology and overuse of computers, many individuals in the working world have reported carpal tunnel symptoms, and some professionals hold the belief that carpal tunnel has become on the rise in the past few decades.

In my first job out of college, in just 1 month of work I had extracted carpal tunnel symptoms as well: sore wrists, hands, and arms, tingling hands, and a loss of feeling in my arms all the way up to my shoulder. Like many hippy green livers, I turned to yoga as a way to manage the pain, and found the following 5 yoga poses to help ease the symptoms:

1. Mountain Pose/Tadasana

origin_4468074287

Mountain pose is a wonderful body scanning pose (ideal for the very beginning of a routine). In this pose, you simply stand upright, focusing on posture and the breath, bringing the hands to the heart if you should so like. See detailed instructions for this pose HERE.

2. Anjali Mudra/Prayer Pose

large_7676576180

Anjali mudra is a wonderful wrist stretch, that also helps connect you to your heart center. Either seated cross-legged or standing, draw your hands to your heart in prayer position. You can also raise your arms above your head or behind your back.

3. Dandasana/Staff pose

origin_2346428393

For Dandasana, sit with your feet straight out in front of you. With a flat back, place your arms straight down next to you, palms facing forward.

4. Warrior 1 & 2

large_2846216148

The warrior poses are not only wonderful for cultivating inner strength, but also for the strengthening of the arms and wrists. See detailed explanations for the two poses HERE.

5. Savasana/Relaxation

large_9116596618

Because the wrists become so over stressed during the course of the work week, Savasana is a wonderful opposite. Simply lie on your back, arms facing upwards, and allow for complete relaxation.

For a yoga sequence specifically designed for carpal tunnel syndrome, check out this youtube yoga sequence.

What are your favorite yoga poses?

51 thoughts on “5 Yoga Poses for Carpal Tunnel

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from
    that service? Appreciate it!

  2. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout
    on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it
    yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me
    out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  4. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with
    the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  5. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do think that you should write more on this subject, it may not
    be a taboo matter but usually people do not speak about such topics.
    To the next! Many thanks!!

  6. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I
    think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get
    the hang of it!

  7. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with
    us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information.
    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to
    my followers! Fantastic blog and wonderful style and design.

  8. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  9. I blog often and I really thank you for your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark
    your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed too.

  10. It’s this that I’ve been needing to get a long-time.
    It is 100% natural, from the dried rind of the tamarind fruit (used in foods like curry),
    and is a revolutionary fat burner, recommended by Dr.

    Thus, it has a lengthy history of consumption in nations where the plant is native.

  11. After going over a number of the blog posts on your website,
    I seriously appreciate your way of writing a blog. I added it
    to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon.

    Please visit my web site too and let me know what you think.

  12. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

Leave a Reply

