4 Ways I Healed Dandruff Naturally

origin_487176673

Photo Credit: Silent7Seven via Flickr

Similarly to my acne struggles, I struggled with dandruff from middle school and on.

Ever since the beginning of high school, I used dandruff shampoos that were laden with chemicals. Although they did fix the symptoms, if I went any longer than one day without shampooing, the symptoms came back.

Only a few months ago, I decided to go completely natural. Within under 3 months my dandruff completely healed.

Here’s what I did:

Switched to a mild baby shampoo

The first step I took while going completely natural was getting rid of any chemically-based products. I swapped my dandruff shampoo for a mild baby shampoo, that wouldn’t add to the toxicity in my body.

Apple cider vinegar scalp treatment at least twice weekly

If there is any natural beauty ingredient that I would take with me trapped on a dessert island, it would be ACV. Not only has ACV helped my acne significantly, but it also helped heal the dandruff. I use the same concoction that I use as a toner in the evenings: 1/2 ACV and 1/2 water, and apply it to my scalp at least twice a week. Once on my scalp, I let it sit and penetrate for 20 minutes, then rinse out. This has worked miracles!

Dr. Oz is well known for raving about ACV as a solution for dandruff; it is naturally anti-bacterial, which helps prevent excess yeast and bacteria, the main causes of dandruff. Since ACV naturally monitors your skin’s PH, it harnesses an environment that makes it more difficult for yeast to survive.

Give it a couple weeks and you will see huge improvements. However, don’t be surprised if you have an initial “flushing” period, in which your scalp seems a little itchier and dandruff ridden.

After using ACV for about a month I had seen vast improvements, and within 3 my dandruff was completely gone. In addition, ACV has worked wonders for the rest of my hair, making it look more youthful and healthy.

Shampoo scalp with baby shampoo no more than twice a week

This is by far the hardest step to take; most of us want to shampoo more when we have dandruff. However, excess shampooing can cause the scalp to secrete more oil, creating more dandruff in the longterm. In order to counteract this, you must shampoo less than you think you should. Once a week is great, twice a week is okay too.

Tip: Rinse your hair in the shower every day and message your scalp to get rid of excess flakes, but without actually shampooing. This will get rid of the flakes but not strip natural oils from your scalp.

Take probiotics

Probiotics, or healthy bacteria, are essential for your internal body to fight off bacterial and yeast infections in the body. You can either take a supplement (although this can get expensive) or ingest fermented foods regularly.

I’ve been eating 1-2 tablespoons of raw, organic sauerkraut daily, which is my preferred method. Making it yourself is incredibly easy (see how HERE), but if convenience is an issue, you can buy a high quality jar of sauerkraut at your health food store. A little goes a long way, so you will find that one jar will last a moderate amount of time.

 

That’s it! Dandruff gone! Now tell me: have you ever struggled with dandruff? Did you heal it naturally?

One thought on “4 Ways I Healed Dandruff Naturally

Leave a Reply

