The Many Dangers of Sugar

origin_3245024960

I started my 30 days without sugar at the beginning of this month, and while I had drastically already cut most sugar from my diet, I quickly realized that cutting sugar completely is close to impossible. Not 100% impossible, but incredibly difficult.

I made some exceptions during these 30 days: I am allowed to consume minimal natural sugar (such as that found in fruit) and bread with the most minimal sugar possible at very low weekly quantities.

But, despite being on a mostly whole foods diet as of late, I still had to throw out/give away a few items:

  • store bought guacamole
  • Stir fry sauce
  • Salad dressing

I quickly realized that sugar is in literally everything. Everything. Unless it is produce, sugar has probably been added.

It’s in breads, cheese, junk food, drinks (even energy drinks), salad dressing, guacamole, sauces, stirfry sauces…the list goes on an on. Even seemingly “healthy” foods, have added sugars in them. And, the scary thing is, sugar doesn’t just go by the name “sugar.”

It can also go by sucrose, evaporated cane juice, agave, fruit juice concentrate, high fructose corn syrup, and dextrose to mention a few. See other names HERE.

So damn sneaky.

A great rule of thumb: google an ingredient you aren’t sure of on your smartphone or computer, and see if it is sugar. You’d be surprised.

Recent press is drawing correlations between sugar and acne, heart disease, diabetes, obesity, and even cancer. Yikes.

After doing some more research, you’d be surprised at the many dangers of sugar:

  1. A large correlation between sugar and metabolic problems
  2. High sugar consumption results in “leptin resistance,” which fools us into thinking we aren’t full
  3. Sugar is bad for heart health 
  4. Obesity rates have drastically increased along with sugar consumption
  5. There is a strong correlation between insulin resistance and cancer, which is made worse with high sugar consumption
  6. Sugar has toxic effects on the liver and digestive system, and can impede nutrient absorption
  7. Sugary drinks consumption has been correlated with earlier deaths
  8. Sugar makes you fat – not only is it empty calories, but it also tricks your body into not feeling full
  9. Metabolizing fructose takes a toll on your body and liver, in a worse manner than glucose (the sugar in fruit)
  10. Eating too much sugar increases your risk of dying from heart disease 

Yikes. Convinced yet? I know I am.

Now tell me: have you ever been addicted to sugar? Have you ever gone on a sugar detox?

4 thoughts on “The Many Dangers of Sugar

  1. I’m on week 1 of an 8-week sugar detox. I’ve always been addicted to sugar, I think, and my diet was incredibly unhealthy, so detoxing on sugar means cutting out so many things that I love. I’ve read about the dangers of sugar though, and I feel that it’s the right thing to do. I’m trying to be relaxed if I eat something with a small amount of sugar in, but I am trying to remove as much as possible from my diet, including fruit and fruit juice for the first few weeks.

    • Yeah it is very hard to do but worth it! It’s crazy how many common grocery items have sugar in them. I don’t know if you’ve tried coconut oil or fruit with low sugar like berries, but that’s one of my favorite ways to satisfy sweet cravings in a healthier way.
      You go girl! 🙂

      • I know, I’ve started looking at ingredients lists more closely and I can’t believe how much sugar is in everything. I’m definitely going to try coconut oil, but I’m not going to re-introduce fruits until week 6 I think. Thanks for the tips though 🙂 And thanks for following my blog!

  2. Hi,
    I was reading your article, which was really relevant to me.
    I have an healthy lifestyle, but my sugar addiction can take sometimes tover the top.
    So I was thinking, is even natural sugar from fruits considered as bad for you ? I eat a lot of fruits, especially in the morning. Thank you

Leave a Reply

