My New Favorite Vegan Essential Omnoms

5450514571_9c5c6c61db_o

Photo cred: Bobbie Bowers via Flickr

I was walking with my friend the other day when he said to me: “there should be a diet category called ‘yo-yo dieting’ for people who regularly change their diet for health to find what’s healthiest for their bodies. Like you, for example.”

I laughed. True story, bro.

I realized he had a point: Why shouldn’t we regularly change our diets depending on what feels right and healthy for our bodies in that present moment? Who is to say we have to stick to one label without transforming to something different? Just like we change over time as people, our diets can too!

Specifically, I’ve been experimenting with veganism as of late. And, as most of you know, I’ve never been 100% vegan. I was a 100% vegetarian for about 4 years, and then began experimenting with eating “mostly plants” with everything else in moderation. Now I’m experiementing again, this time with mostly full-frontal vegan foods.

Through these new experimentations, I’ve compiled some new favorite foods (yay!). I’ve really enjoyed experimenting with new plant-based foods (see below). I didn’t realize how much I would enjoy the vegan diet but I feel really great!

So, without further ado, here are some of my new favorite vegan foods:

Rice Noodles

Rice noodles are made with two ingredients: rice and water. Although they are made from white rice and not quite as healthy as pastas made from brown rice, they are still minimally processed, cheap, and have the ability to take on the flavor of your stirfry. I’ve been experimenting with Thai flavors. Super yummy!

Peanut Thai Stirfry Sauce

Because I’m lazy about cooking and not the best cook in the world, I like taking shortcuts with my cooking whenever possible. One of my favorite ways to do this is to buy stirfry sauces. One bottle usually lasts me a long time. Lately, I’ve been using this Peanut Thai Sauce and man is it wonderfully delicious!

Mangos, Pears, Apples Oh My!

Before I started experimenting with veganism, I hardly ever ate fruit unless I was making a green smoothie. For some reason, I never was into the taste. But, after starting this experiment, I’ve begun embracing fruit more, and have developed a great taste for new fruits. Specifically, different types of pears, mangos, and apples.

Yucca

My partner is  part west-indian and introduced me to both yucca and plantain. Before now I had NEVER heard of yucca or plantain, but once introduced I LOVED the taste. There are some great recipes you can try, but my favorite is boiling the yucca with onions and vinegar. Delicious! Yucca is filled with fiber, vitamin C, and manganese.

Plantain

Plantain looks similar to a banana but has a different taste. It is filled with fiber, vitamin A, and potassium. Although unlike banana, plantain is almost always cooked. You can fry them, make chips, or cook them in other ways. Get creative with it like our friends over at Empowered Sustenance in this post. 

Gluten-Free Granola

Granola is also a food I never ate very often before experimenting with veganism. My favorite new brands are both Udi’s and Kind. You can find them at any grocery store or make your own!

That about sums it up! Now tell me: what are your favorite vegan foods?

Leave a Reply

