4 Supplements I Swear By

4623146936_fa47537d08_o

Photo credit: Ano Lobb via Flickr

As a healthy living blogger, I’ve had my own ups in downs in my own health, and have tested a myriad of different lifestyles, supplements, and foods. Some of the health issues I’ve worked or am working through include:

  • Irritable Bowl Syndrome (completely reversed with diet changes)
  • Acne and skin rashes
  • Weight gain (reversed with diet changes)

The point of this post today is to share some of my personal trials and gains, in the hopes of stressing the beauty in imperfection that we all deal with. I have so enjoyed learning and growing from the rest of the healthy living community here in the blogosphere, so with out further ado, here are 4 supplements I swear by:

Bio-Kult’s 14 Strand Probiotics

I’ve taken my fair share of antibiotics to battle acne over the years, so rebuilding my gut was a must. This probiotic brand is the most reasonably priced quality brand I’ve found. And made a difference in my digestive health and energy levels. The product is very strong, so I would recommend starting at a lower dose (1 a day) and then working your way up to 2-4 per day. Bio-Kult’s price is about $40 for 120 count of tablets. Find it on amazon HERE.

Trader Joes’ Vitamin D + Magnesium Complex

Vitamin D is the only vitamin we cannot get through food sources, so unless you get at least 15 minutes of sun exposure daily, you are more than likely deficient in this important nutrient. Magnesium is another nutriant that is often overlooked in women’s health. I find Vitamin D supplements very reasonable at Trader Joes.

Wheatgrass Juice Powder

Wheatgrass is an amazing detoxing superfood. With about 70% chlorofil, a small portion of wheatgrass is the equivalent to pounds of veggies. The first time I took wheatgrass juice, over 2 years ago, I had to immediately rush to the bathroom. It is very powerful stuff, so again, I would recommend starting small, in addition to taking the supplement on an empty stomach. When purchasing a powder, make sure you purchase a juice powder, as opposed to a plant powder. Find it on amazon HERE.

Fem Rebalance Capsules

I used to struggle with hormone imbalance issues, so I found this herbal supplement that countains a blend of herbs that help with female hormone imbalance. Within a month of taking it, my hormones had returned to normal. I don’t take these anymore because I don’t need them, but they really helped me at that time. Find them on amazon HERE.

Now tell me: what supplements do YOU swear by?

4 thoughts on “4 Supplements I Swear By

  1. how funny I use three of these as well ๐Ÿ™‚ have to try the Wheatgrass powder.. had never heard of that one before ๐Ÿ™‚ just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

