Our Excuses are Killing Our Healthy Living and Fitness Goals

1307487366_007990a39a_o

Photo credit: Leah Makin via Flickr

I’ve become the queen of making excuses the past few months.

Everything from eating gluten (which causes me to break out in rashes on my face and back), not eating enough green veggies, and failing to workout more than twice a week.

I told myself I didn’t have time to wake up 5 minutes earlier to make a green smoothie for the car ride to work. I told myself I didn’t have time to prep a large healthy bulk meal each week to eat for lunch a few times a week. I told myself I didn’t care about not working out. I told myself I didn’t care about waking up 10 minutes early to meditate for 5 minutes before heading to work.

But we can always make time for the things that really matter, it’s just that we don’t really want to. Albert Einstein found the time to discover E = mc2, write his Theory of Relativity, and win the Nobel Prize in physics. Mozart made the time to write 41 symphonies, 27 piano concertos, 16 operas, and 19 piano sonatas. Martin Luther King made the time to lead 200,000 people in the march on Washington, lead a boycott on the Montgomery bus system, deliver his “I Have a Dream” speech, and win the  Nobel Peace Prize.

I found that I needed to find my drive again, the real reasons why I’m passionate about healthy living. I had forgotten why I do what I do, and instead began treating healthy living like something I needed to check off my to-do list.

Disease prevention, high energy levels, helping others, love and compassion for myself and the planet. These are the reasons I do what I do, and they are important and worthy.

So this week: I challenge you to find your drive again. What are the reasons you care about healthy living?

Leave a Reply

