My Favorite Organic Obsession of 2016

*Disclaimer: this post is NOT endorsed by any products or companies. 

I went home to DC this past weekend, and had a great time visiting with my immediate family, who all happened to be home that weekend as well 🙂 Any of you readers who are DC locals know the absolute bliss of brunching at Whitlows in the Clarendon neighborhood of Arlington, VA. #happiness

As we are driving back from Whitlows, my Dad promptly states: “Have you been to Mom’s?”

To which I reply: “What’s that?”

To which my Dad excitedly rambles: “Mom’s is the BEST. Your Mom and I go on dates to Mom’s all the time-”

“Greg – we went to Mom’s ONCE” (laughs)

“-anyways…Mom’s is a real competition to Whole Foods…it’s a small organic grocery store that houses local, organic food…”

Well, I was sold at organic, so we stopped by on our way out of town. Turns out, Mom’s has some great things going for it, and I only wish there was a location in Richmond.

MOM’S: Mom’s Organic Market

Mom’s is a small organic market that not only houses 100% organic produce, but also aims to protect and help the environment. Mom’s employees participate in environmental actions in the community, such as cleaning up trash and watersheds.

Started in 1987 out of a garage, Mom’s has grown to include locations throughout Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Washington D.C. It has a myriad of healthy, organic, and gluten-free items, and even pays its employees a minimum of $11/hour. Mom’s has a high ingredients standard, with a list of 111 banned ingredients, that include items such as preservatives, flavor enhancers, and artificial sweeteners.

I Swear I’m Like a Child in Organic Grocery Stores #childish

Customers probably thought I was crazy, pulling out my iPhone every other second and dragging my partner around the store…#noshame

IMG_3062

Cool perk #1: the store had a spot to grind your own nut butter to provide ultimate freshness of the butter. 🙂

IMG_3064

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been in grocery stores picking up Earth Balance vegan butter that I say out loud: “I WISH I could buy Earth Balance in bulk!” This is the first store I’ve ever found that houses bulk Earth Balance. This is an awesome perk #2.

IMG_3067

A large assortment of raw energy bars: perk #3

IMG_3058

Local plentiful beer and wine…mmmmm. #perk#4

IMG_3068

Mom’s had a nice gluten-free section that included what looked like high quality soup. I always have a hard time finding gluten-free soup…perk #5.

Needless to say, I’ll be visiting Mom’s the next time I’m in town.

 

Now tell me: what is your favorite organic obsession this year?

Leave a Reply

